First Email:
Hello Sales,Second email after artist replied:
Good morning and its nice contacting you,am here in Australia for a
business transaction....i came across your websites while browsing and found out
you have the best quality of products...i will like to make an order
from your store to my shop abroad in United Kingdom....
I will like to know if you ship abroad and also if payment by credit card
is okay by you...hope to read back from you so as for me to give you the
list of the items needed..
Regards,
Terry Williams
CEO
Williams Goods Ltd
343 Bold Street,Liverpool L1 4DS,United Kingdom
From: terrywilliams03@gmail.comPoor scammer, couldn't even get the faked name right at the end of the reply. And hey - I actually used a similar ploy with a scammer as this one used in the reply - I had said I had lost the original email and which pieces of artwork were they interested in - knowing they would never be able to match up what they had originally said. Now they are using the oh, dear - lost the information, please give it to me again ploy.
Subj: Re: Order Inquiry!!!!!!
Hello,
Thanks for the response and am sorry for the late in reply it was due to
my tight schedule in business and no problem with the means of payment you
suggested i will kindly want to have the websites address so as for me to
select the items needed,i had lost it and couldnt get it in my file..
Regards,
Teery
Okay, people - these scam emails really do look all alike after awhile. Familiarize yourself with the basic structure and get good at recognizing them when they FIRST come in. Let's have no more victims on this round, okay???
Terry Williams has moved into other fields with the same scam. He pretends to be an importer in Australia, offering to pay by credit card, as long as the US exporter pays a the very heavy shipping costs to a third company: Globaworld(sic) shipping. This company is run by one Richard Moore, who seems to have gone to same English classes as Terry!
ReplyDeleteYes, we also have posts on "Dennis Moore" and "Kenny Moore" so for all we know, it's the same small group of perpetrators with very small imaginations to come up with new names - or all these guys are using some kind of automated software where all this is templated with limited choices. In either case, I've never understood the horrible spelling and grammatical errors that are so consistently a part of these scam emails.
ReplyDeleteThanks for sharing your experience.
Below is an email string from a teryy Williams trying to scam me on my Craigs List sell:
ReplyDeleteFrom: Terry William [mailto:terrywilliam@y7mail.com]
Sent: Monday, October 03, 2011 2:59 PM
Subject: Re: [name of item] - $4300 (Littlestown, PA)
Thanks for the response, I'm seriously interested in this posted AD and i will really love to purchase it right away. Kindly put off the ad right away and consider me as your favorite buyer and I will have my shipper come over for the handling of the shipping down to my place after payment has been received. I will be making the payment through PayPal as paypal is safe and secured for transactions online, advice soon as I'm at sea at the moment as a marine engineer and due to the nature of my work, phone calls making and visiting of website are restricted but i squeezed out time to check this advert and send you an email regarding it. I'm buying this for my personal use, If this is acceptable kindly get back to me with your paypal email address and the details below so i can proceed with the payment. I can only pay through paypal at the moment as i do not have access to my bank account online,but i have it attached to my paypal account, and this is why i insisted on using paypal to pay all i will need is your paypal email address to make the payments,and if you do not have a paypal account yet,its pretty easy to set one up at www.paypal.com,i will be expecting your email.
I will need this following details so i can proceed with the payment right away
Are you the first owner:
Your PayPal e-Mail Address:
full name:
What is your reason for selling it?
Address:
Last price
I'm sorry, just want to be sure about the sale before i proceed
Thank you
Terry
I am a travel agent and my friend and guide in Italy had been contacted by "Terry Williams" to plan a very expensive party for 20 people, 4 days in Italy. She passed this email to me, as she only works as a guide, not as an agent. When I called the phone number provided to see about the details of the hotel stay, meals, party, etc...he was totally unprepared for my questions...which were real...and he was bogus. Someone in the background was prompting him on the details. When he suggested that he paid by check...we said that would not be possible...he agreed to credit card, but I would have to forward funds to another person for the airfare...I said that would not be possible...and have not heard from him since. I feel sorry for all the genuine Terry Williams, as the name will always raise a "red flag" in my mind.
ReplyDeleteHe also now sells antique auto parts from England. The reason they get away with using the same name over and over is most people are too caught up in completing the deal to bother validating who they are doing business with.
ReplyDeleteAnyhow, below is the latest e-mail...
"If you are still in the market for this purchase let me know as I can
help. What's your phone number?
Best regards,
Terry Williams
42 Fishergate, Preston, GB PR1 2AD, United Kingdom."