Return-path: [nobody@zero8.webzero.kr]
Received: from [110.45.139.18] (port=53783 helo=zero8.webzero.kr) (Seoul, Korea)
From: Etherington Parton [e.partonsupplies0@gmail.com]
Subject: Inquiry...
Hello,
I am Etherington Parton and I'll like to order some items from your gallery/store but before we proceed I'll like to ask the following questions.
Do you ship to Australia?
Do you do Mail Order?
Do you accept credit card as for Payment (My US Master and Visa card to be precise)?
I await your urgent response so we can proceed.
Etherington
Scammers use the Internet to find new victims. I fight back using the Internet to educate and help artists NOT become victims.
Monday, July 11, 2011
Scam Email: Etherington Parton
This scam has the typical content of the "template". Looking at the headers and glancing at the RETURN-PATH field rather than the FROM field revealed the shady shady source of this email. Also, pretty bizarre fake name for this scammer to have chosen. I really think they must have software that just randomly chooses and throws names together. And this scammer was hedging their bets by referring to me as a "gallery/store".
Labels:
art scam,
Etherington Parton,
scam email
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Yep, I got this one too! I actually e-mailed back and forth a couple of times with this jerk before I realized that it was a scam. When the guy told me I didn't need to ship any merchandise, that he would have someone come to my studio and pick it up and they in turn would ship it out - that sent up the "red flag." When I told him I needed a bank certified money order, I never heard from him again.
ReplyDeleteThanks for posting this. I just got my "request" from this scammer this morning. First thing I did was put the name in search and it was all over the place with warnings. I'm not even going to waste my time responding, but I will be passing this info on.
ReplyDeleteYep, I got an "inquiry" as well, he wanted to order from my Gallery/Store. My favorite though was his "personal logistic agent" in the UK.
ReplyDeleteThanks for posting this Katie. I also received this email this morning, the name sent the alarm bells off immediately, in addition to wanting to ship to Fiji, a quick Google search confirmed all suspicions. Thanks for your efforts.
ReplyDeleteEric
South Africa
As a rule, I now search the internet for names of folks who contact me with inquiries, as I have had similar random requests just like old Etherington. It is definitely a template he/she/they has/have used, as my email was the same as the one posted here, except it claims that the order would go to Fiji! Thank you Katie, you are indeed a Samurai in the war against lame #@!!*** scammers.
ReplyDeleteRegards,
Leah
Canada
He must be doing the rounds as I recieved the same request this morning to ship to Fiji. Wouldn't you think he'd use a normal name. Etherington Parton oh please!!!!A quick search on the internet and I found my concerns answered.
ReplyDeleteThanks all posters.
Alice
Melbourne
I got the exact same one too! Thanks for posting!
ReplyDeleteRegards,
Shelley
Vancouver
Yes, we too have recieved an email from this guy about shipping to Fiji - we are a large textiles manufacturer, but something did not seem right so I googled him...
ReplyDeleteThank you very much for posting this!
I have recieved many scams, they usually provide bank details straight away and are 'in a hurry' but never phone numbers. This was the first to provide a different format, but it still seemed odd.
Hannah
London